ESPDUINO32 build problem - pins_arduino.h: No such file or directory

I’m using VSCode on Ubuntu 20.04.5. Sanity check LED-blink project for Arduino Leonardo builds and runs fine. I started playing with DOIT ESPDUINO32 board. The new project as generated by IDE fails to build with this output:

> Executing task: platformio run <

Processing esp32doit-espduino (platform: espressif32; board: esp32doit-espduino; framework: arduino)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Verbose mode can be enabled via `-v, --verbose` option
CONFIGURATION: https://docs.platformio.org/page/boards/espressif32/esp32doit-espduino.html
PLATFORM: Espressif 32 (3.4.0) > DOIT ESPduino32
HARDWARE: ESP32 240MHz, 320KB RAM, 4MB Flash
DEBUG: Current (esp-prog) External (esp-prog, iot-bus-jtag, jlink, minimodule, olimex-arm-usb-ocd, olimex-arm-usb-ocd-h, olimex-arm-usb-tiny-h, olimex-jtag-tiny, tumpa)
PACKAGES: 
 - framework-arduinoespressif32 3.10006.210326 (1.0.6) 
 - tool-esptoolpy 1.30100.210531 (3.1.0) 
 - toolchain-xtensa32 2.50200.97 (5.2.0)
LDF: Library Dependency Finder -> https://bit.ly/configure-pio-ldf
LDF Modes: Finder ~ chain, Compatibility ~ soft
Found 28 compatible libraries
Scanning dependencies...
No dependencies
Building in release mode
Compiling .pio/build/esp32doit-espduino/src/main.cpp.o
Compiling .pio/build/esp32doit-espduino/FrameworkArduino/Esp.cpp.o
Compiling .pio/build/esp32doit-espduino/FrameworkArduino/FunctionalInterrupt.cpp.o
In file included from src/main.cpp:1:0:
/home/paul/.platformio/packages/framework-arduinoespressif32/cores/esp32/Arduino.h:185:26: fatal error: pins_arduino.h: No such file or directory

Do I need to install a dependency? Provided link: PlatformIO Registry doesn’t offer a clear choice. What is the solution?