ESP32 WROVER Platform RAM size

Hey there everyone,

I’ve been working on an IOT project that requires quite a lot of available memory (Wifi, Bluetooth, Amazon Web Services, and then some extra functionality on top of that) and recently we realized that we’d be hard pressed to make it all work within the 288KB of available heap space of the ESP32 WROOM boards through PlatformIO.

So we bought a few WROVER kits, and now we’re building to those. We were surprised however, to find they had an identical heap size to the WROOM kits when we built through PlatformIO. The WROVER has access to an additional 4MB of PSRAM, and I figure there’s no reason why it should be limited to a 288KB heap size.

Indeed, under Espressif32 boards, it seems like PlatformIO treats it identically to all the other ESP32 boards (Espressif 32 — PlatformIO latest documentation)

So my question is this: (And please do forgive me for any ignorance on my part, I’m only learning as I’m going here)

Is there any way for me to get platformIO to register additional heap space on the WROVER and utilize it’s extra memory? Or, failing that, is it possible for me to adjust the available heap size at all on any ESP32 board? I know there’s more memory availble, looking at these partition tables. I just don’t know how to utilize it.

I have the same problem, anyone that can help us?

Is it possible with Arduino IDE?

I can’t speak to the Arduino IDE, but I know I can adjust all of this when building through the ESP-IDF and using its make menuconfig tool.

Hi @Mike_Daoust ! Could you please point out where you change RAM size in menuconfig?

Sure thing, it’s just a flag under Component Config -> ESP32 Specific -> Support for External, SPI-connected RAM In addition, I found that “Allow external memory as an argument to xTaskCreateStatic” under SPI RAM Config was very helpful.

After setting that flag, a call to esp_get_free_heap_size() returned 4483492