ESP32 Uploads no longer possible

I’ve been using PlatformIO for VS Code successfully for several months, and suddenly I am no longer able to upload programs to any of my Espressif boards. The program will compile, but then when I try to upload it, it times out and throws error 2 “timed out waiting for packet header”. I am using a Pixelbook with Debian 10 installed. Operating System: Debian GNU/Linux 10 (buster)
Kernel: Linux 5.4.64-08224-g7c5e01902547
Architecture: x86-64
I have tried backdating the OS to Debian 9, removing, and reinstalling VS Code and PlatformIO, and even powerwashing the Pixelbook and staring over completely. None of these have had any effect at all. I’m able to communicate with all of the ESP32 boards I have using Beagle Terminal through ChromeOS, so I know that my cables and USB ports are functioning correctly. I’ve added my Linux username to the dialout group, and have also changed the permissions for the /dev/ttyUSB0 port to include read and write access, but this has had no effect. I’m at a loss for what has happened, mostly because everything was working fine, and then just literally stopped being able to upload the next day. I’m using two different NodeMCU-32s boards as well as a Heltec WIFI kit 32 board, and they are all behaving the same way.

Here is the PlatformIO Project Configuration File

;

; Build options: build flags, source filter

; Upload options: custom upload port, speed and extra flags

; Library options: dependencies, extra library storages

; Advanced options: extra scripting

;

; Please visit documentation for the other options and examples

[env:nodemcu-32s]

platform = espressif32

board = nodemcu-32s

framework = arduino

monitor_speed = 115200

And here is a screen capture from the terminal when trying to upload:

> Executing task: platformio run --target upload <

Processing nodemcu-32s (platform: espressif32; board: nodemcu-32s; framework: arduino)