Esp32 menuconfig

Hi there. Im new to platformio using esp-idf to program an esp32. Everything seems nice. However, the lack of make menuconfig makes things a bit more difficult. Is there any plans to change this in the near future?
Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

Maybe editing sdkconfig.h directly is a suitable workaround?

There are a couple other folks using their own spin on VS Code to bring up menuconfig. Why is PlatformIO not able to do this.

Links? Sure, I could just google it, but if you want to bring it up, it would be nice if you link to what youā€™re talking about! :wink:

Sure. Iā€™ll give you 4 (well technically 3 the last one is a screenshot of mine)
#1) GitHub - Deous/VSC-Guide-for-esp32: This is a guide showing how to setup esp32 freeRTOS project on Windows
#2) GitHub - botofancalin/Esp32_debug_template: A template project for debugginf esp-idf projects on VsCode
#3) Espressif IDF - Visual Studio Marketplace

Mine uses the new Cmake, and everything works just fine. If i knowing barley nothing on how to implement things in VS Code, I cannot see how PlatforIO canā€™t do it when they are clearly far smarter in this avenue than I.

I think menuconfig is part of native ESP32 build system. PlatformIO uses its own, maybe it makes bringing menuconfig trickier than it seems.

1 Like

Itā€™s possible. but if your going to include a platform then It should support all the features. Menuconfig is a very important part of the ESP32 platform.

1 Like

I agree in principle, but I suspect itā€™s because they donā€™t want to have to patch the ESP-IDF every release to remove checks present thereā€¦ ie. if you actually run menuconfig on PIOā€¦ you get

python $HOME\.platformio\packages\framework-espidf\tools\idf.py menuconfig

Setting IDF_PATH environment variable: C:\Users\Peter\.platformio\packages\framework-espidf
Checking Python dependencies...
The following Python requirements are not satisfied:
future>=0.15.2
cryptography>=2.1.4
pyparsing>=2.0.3,<2.4.0