ESP32 IDF C++ adding private Libs

I am very new to this (platformio) and esp32 too…
I want to use platfromio, but don’t understand the simplest of things
I added a bunch of .h and .c files in LIBS
as cpp_utls<files> (lots of .c and .h) files

then include them as
#include <BLEDevice.h>

and platform IO no can find…

Library Dependency Finder → Library Dependency Finder (LDF) — PlatformIO latest documentation
LDF MODES: FINDER(chain) COMPATIBILITY(soft)
Collected 0 compatible libraries
Scanning dependencies…
No dependencies
Compiling .pioenvs\esp32dev\src\main.o
src\main.cpp:9:23: fatal error: BLEDevice.h: No such file or directory

• Looking for BLEDevice.h dependency? Check our library registry!
  • CLI > platformio lib search “header:BLEDevice.h”
  • Web > PlatformIO Registry

Seems like you want to use the PlatformIO Registry library. Go to your platformio.ini and add the line

lib_deps = 1841

I don’t know what you do with that other library code of yours but that doesn’t seem to cause an error yet…

no I not using ARDUINO platform
just using his general C++ libs
I thought PIO would take care of the .c/,h files automatically as it
should search the /lib path no?

Can you show me where the BLEDevice.h is in the ESP-IDF platform? This seems to come from an Arduino library.

I don’t know what the problem is yet with your custom files in the lib folder. Is that BLEDevice.h file there?

its in \lib\cpp_utls\BLEDevice.h

Hmm can you upload your project as a ZIP file on google drive / dropbox? I could take a quick a look as to why it’s not working.

absolutely

there is nothing to the code (YET)

You had a problem with the LDF compatibility mode (docs). Change the platformio.ini to

[env:esp32dev]
platform = espressif32
board = esp32dev
framework = espidf
lib_compat_mode = off
build_flags = -D PIO_FRAMEWORK_ESP_IDF_ENABLE_EXCEPTIONS

I also fixed “build-flags” to “build_flags”.