ESP32-CAM freezes after clicking "Start Monitoring" ; resets on "Stop Monitoring"

I am just learning how to use the PIO extension on MS Visual Studio Code, after having previously worked only with the Arduino IDE. I am using a [AI Thinker ESP32-CAM] on a [ESP32-CAM-MB serial interface motherboard]. I started at square one with a simple blink program, and that program loads and runs just fine with VSC and PIO (as it did when I used the Arduino IDE). So far, so good.

Wanting to add incrementally to my skills, I then added two lines to the program to provide serial port communication to the program:
in Setup() I added: Serial.begin(115200);
in Loop() I added: Serial.println(“testing”);

When I run this program the LED blinks just as before and everything is still fine. But the program halts when I go to PIO’s SERIAL MONITOR window and click on “Start Monitoring” to view the message “testing” being sent by the Serial.println() function. The LED no longer blinks, and I see nothing at all coming from the serial port. When I click “Stop Monitoring” the program restarts from the beginning and runs just fine again.

To troubleshoot this I left the program running correctly and opened the Arduino IDE. Using that program’s serial monitor window I see the “testing” statement being printed correctly to the serial port. So I can confirm that the program is functioning correctly in all regards – the additional Serial.println() statement is being executed every time the LED blinks.