Errors trying to build WiFi project

hi All
first I have to say that I am new to PIO having moved across from Arduino
My project is a direct copy from an Arduino project which compiles and runs with no problems.
an excerpt from my main.cpp file is: (the whole file is quire large)

#include <Arduino.h>
#include <WiFi.h>
WiFiClient net;

#include <ArduinoOTA.h>

#include <MQTT.h>
#include <MQTTClient.h>
MQTTClient client(256);

#include <Streaming.h>
#include <EEPROM.h>
#include <Ticker.h>
#include <stdio.h>

#include <OneWire.h>
const int oneWireBus = 4;
OneWire oneWire(oneWireBus);

#include <DallasTemperature.h>
DallasTemperature sensors(&oneWire);
// use sensors.begin(); in setup

#include "variables.h"
//==============================

the first problem:
the line WiFiClient net; was showing as an error WiFiClient does not name a type

I was trying to resolve this when i had an error from PIO saying:
Can not remove temporary directory c:\Users\Dave\Documents\PlatformIO\Projects\WiFiMqtt Module\.pio\build.
Please remove it manually to avoid build issues

i did remove it manually but this error persists, i can see that PIO has replaced the directory but it comes up with the same error again and again

there are other errors being shown by the system but i am sure most of those will be resolved when i can find the solution to these two.

my project.ini file is unchanged:

;PlatformIO Project Configuration File
;
;   Build options: build flags, source filter
;   Upload options: custom upload port, speed and extra flags
;   Library options: dependencies, extra library storages
;   Advanced options: extra scripting
;
; Please visit documentation for the other options and examples
; https://docs.platformio.org/page/projectconf.html

[env:fm-devkit]
platform = espressif32
board = fm-devkit
framework = arduino

i am sure i am experiencing ‘teething’ problems if anyone can point me in the right direction i would be most grateful
thanks in advance
Dave