Error on build just as it finishes linking

I am new to all this stuff, but, I was building error free while trying to fix an issue with bed size and print size. I got it all working except z-axis is printing 2x higher than it should be, the test 20mm cube comes out 20x20x40. I made a change to configuration_adv.h file (I changed the Z_MICROSTEPS) and now it gives this error when building

Linking .pio\build\LPC1768\firmware.elf
c:/users/doug/.platformio/packages/toolchain-gccarmnoneeabi/bin/../lib/gcc/arm-none-eabi/8.2.1/../../../../arm-none-eabi/bin/ld.exe: .pio/build/LPC1768/src/src/HAL/HAL_LPC1768/DebugMonitor.cpp.o: in function `HardFault_HandlerC':
c:\Users\doug\Desktop\MarlinFirmware/Marlin\src\HAL\HAL_LPC1768/DebugMonitor.cpp:204: undefined reference to `watchdog_init()'
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status
*** [.pio\build\LPC1768\firmware.elf] Error 1

I even went and used CTRL-Z to undo every change I made today to both configuration.h and configuration_adv.h. Both files are at the point where I had no issues with building, and it still cannot build anymore. I am not a developer, the only source I edit are those 2 files.

Which branch / version of Marlin are you using exactly?

I am using Marlin-bugfix-2.0.x with a 32 bit motherboard from Monday this week.

Do you have the file https://github.com/MarlinFirmware/Marlin/blob/bugfix-2.0.x/Marlin/src/HAL/HAL_LPC1768/watchdog.cpp? The implementation is there. It is guarded by #if ENABLED(USE_WATCHDOG) though, but also all calls in the DebugMonitor.cpp are guarded by the same macro.

https://github.com/MarlinFirmware/Marlin/blob/bugfix-2.0.x/Marlin/src/HAL/HAL_LPC1768/DebugMonitor.cpp#L206

So my first guess would be to do a complete project clean pio run -t clean or “Clean” in the project tasks and do a rebuild. If the error occurs, double check your definitions for USE_WATCHDOG in the configuration header files, and try disabling or enabling it.