Easy way to change project processor?

Hello all, I hope you guys are having great days.

I am reaching out because I currently have a project with many different files and was wondering if there was a way to change the target processor without having to create a new project from scratch. Something seems odd with the idea of having to create a new project and copying over every file. But I am new to PlatformIO so it may very well be the solution.

More details: it is an Arduino DUE project being changed into an Arduino Mega2560 R3

You can have one project with all your source files. The platformio.ini file can then have multiple environments ([env:xyz]) in which you tell PlatformIO for what target platform, board, framework etc to build the source files too.

All of this is documented in

https://docs.platformio.org/en/latest/projectconf/index.html

So you can just have to environments in your project, one for the Due, one for ATMega2560, as in

[env:megaatmega2560]
platform = atmelavr
board = megaatmega2560
framework = arduino

[env:due]
platform = atmelsam
board = due
framework = arduino

Note that as soon as you have multiple environments in your project, you have to use the project environment switcher to switch between the environments you want to work in – you can only have one active at a time. You also have the “Build all” (default) and the build / project tasks for each environment available there.

So I can have a single project with a single src/main.cpp and build it for both a Due and a ATMega2560 without having to create a new project.

Note that you get the “platform” and “board” values by looking into the documentation or seraching for your board in the registry (example).