Does PlatformIO set the proper pins for us?

Hi,

Sorry for the question that may be stupid, but I looked everywhere and couldn’t find a clear answer…

I am new to embedded software developpement and I am trying to build a personal project that I’ve had at heart for a long time.
I don’t worry about the software part, but my biggest fear is to blow up my board… I purchased a wesp32 and in the product description (https://wesp32.com/files/wESP32-Product-Brief.pdf) they say:

If the user loads software on the ESP32 that does not configure the RMII pins correctly, it is possible the software will configure the pins in such a way that physical damage may result, for instance connecting an output from the PHY to an output of the ESP32, resulting in a short circuit through the chip’s output drivers.

So my question is the following:

Because PlatformIO supports my board (Silicognition wESP32 — PlatformIO latest documentation), does it means that it automatically set the proper pins both for ESP-IDF and Ardunio and that I don’t have to care at all about this warning ?

And if yes, what about the libraries I may use, will they also be automatically configured to use proper pins ?

Thanks in advance for you help,

Jonas

In summary, no, it’s your responsability. Good luck.

In more detail:

I would be 99% certain that it is up to the developer to avoid doing things like that. The data sheet for your board/microcontroller is a great place to start understanding this sort of thing. PlatformIO isn’t like the Arduino system where that does configure certain pins, timers, and so on. PlatformIO does not.

I often forget to enable interrupts on my ATmega328 code, leading to nothing working – but that same code works in Arduino IDE mode, which does enable interrupts.