Could not initialize project! please help!

hi I’m a bit new to platformio and I’m trying to start a project for a stm32f031k6 nucleo and I’m trying to use mbed framework. every time i click finish to start my project i get this error:

PIO Core Call Error: 
The current working directory C:\Users\sean\Documents\PlatformIO\Projects\mbed test will be used for the project.

The next files/directories have been created in C:\Users\sean\Documents\PlatformIO\Projects\mbed test
include - Put project header files here
lib - Put here project specific (private) libraries
src - Put project source files here
platformio.ini - Project Configuration File

Error: Processing nucleo_f031k6 (platform: ststm32; board: nucleo_f031k6; framework: mbed)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Verbose mode can be enabled via `-v, --verbose` option
CONFIGURATION: https://docs.platformio.org/page/boards/ststm32/nucleo_f031k6.html
PLATFORM: ST STM32 (14.2.0) > ST Nucleo F031K6
HARDWARE: STM32F031K6T6 48MHz, 4KB RAM, 32KB Flash
DEBUG: Current (stlink) On-board (stlink) External (blackmagic, cmsis-dap, jlink)
PACKAGES: 
 - framework-mbed 6.51506.201227 (5.15.6) 
 - toolchain-gccarmnoneeabi 1.90201.191206 (9.2.1)
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'tools.build_api':
 File "C:\Users\sean\.platformio\penv\lib\site-packages\platformio\builder\main.py", line 177:
 env.SConscript("$BUILD_SCRIPT")
 File "C:\Users\sean\.platformio\packages\tool-scons\scons-local-4.1.0\SCons\Script\SConscript.py", line 591:
 return _SConscript(self.fs, *files, **subst_kw)
 File "C:\Users\sean\.platformio\packages\tool-scons\scons-local-4.1.0\SCons\Script\SConscript.py", line 280:
 exec(compile(scriptdata, scriptname, 'exec'), call_stack[-1].globals)
 File "C:\Users\sean\.platformio\platforms\ststm32\builder\main.py", line 121:
 target_elf = env.BuildProgram()
 File "C:\Users\sean\.platformio\packages\tool-scons\scons-local-4.1.0\SCons\Util.py", line 658: