Confused with the library system

Hi, folks!

I couldn’ stand the ArduinoIDE anymore and moved on… However somehow I’m a newbie. I got problems with the library, I tried to understand it but still no clue.

In the project folder there are several sub folders:
.pio
lib
src

Now I wanted to use a lib called “Nextion”. Copied to the lib folder. The problem is, that within the lib uses for example a standard lib: SD.h. The compiler is not able to find the lib. However this is a “standard” lib from the Arduino. “lib\ITEADLIB_Arduino_Nextion-master\NexUpload.h:20:16: fatal error: SD.h: No such file or directory”

When I install the Nextion lib with Platform IO download, there is no problem.

When i uninstall it again, and simply copy the “manually downloaded” lib into the folder …platformio\lib it also doesn’t work.

What is the mistake, i tried to change lib_ldf_mode but that didn’t help me. I like to have all these special libs directly in the project folder.

Would be great if you could help me here.

Could you please show the exact subfolders structure of lib subfolder?

I recommend against copying libraries to the lib folder. Instead, declare them in platformio.ini:

lib_deps =
    Nextion

And don’t forget to clean out the lib folder and delete .pio before the next compile…

This would be difficult. I just copied the standard folders from ArduinoIDE. But yes, there are several subfolders. It would be great if independent from the amount of subfolders VisualCode searches for the files (.c, .h).

Yes, I see this is the better option. But on the other hand I sometimes modify these libraries only for one project. They should not be mixed with “standard libs”. Also when I want to get there years later it can lead to problems - If everything is packed together (libs with the projects) it is ensured that everything works fine…

However I do not understand how to get around this and have to put the Nextion lib with lib_deps into the project