Cant use Step in, Step over function while debugging Arduino UNO

Hello everyone, this is my first time debugging an Arduino UNO. For some reason, after I start debugging, the debug console says everything works well. But I can’t use the Step In and Step Over function. And also, it will produce a wiring.c file, which I don’t know what is this too. Can anyone please help me?

This is the contents of my .ini file.
Screenshot 2022-05-10 204009

Place a breakpoint after the debug_init() is called, e.g., at line 13. Stop and restart debugging again. Does it break there now?

1 Like

oh yes it does. Thank you! May I know why a file called wiring.c always pops up each time I run the debugger?

The file isn’t created by PlatformIO, it’s part of the Arduino framework. When the debugger attaches or you pause in the middle of your code, it could e.g. be in the delay() code or digitalWrite() code. wiring.c e.g. implements delay(). (ArduinoCore-avr/cores/arduino/wiring.c at master · arduino/ArduinoCore-avr · GitHub).

may i know it implements in what way?

Especially see

You can use the breakpoint() function in order to definitely stop at a certain point instead of letting the code continue running.

I linked you to the documentation above. It uses a hardware timer on the ATMega328 chip.

1 Like

Oh i see. I understand now. Thank you!

For some reason, I am having this issue again. But this time, it popped up a weird error that says i don’t have that source file in my folder, which I have.

Screenshot 2022-05-11 113844

Is s:\\ the correct drive name? Is that a shared network drive or a subst’ed drive (for which there are known problems)?

The only problem here I saw is the “//” instead of the “/”. Will this affect anything? Other than that, it’s all correct.
When i try to use this code from the platformIO’s debugging page, it ran well without this error.

Did you move the project form its previous location?