Can't get PIO to work, Home doesn't want to load

I am running Windows 7 and I have Python 2.7 installed in the ‘C:\Python27’.

I installed VSC without problems. Than there was a column of various VSC components, like C++, PlatformIO etc. I clicked on PIO v0.7.x and it installed itself. As well I’ve set the relevant system variables in PATH.

Anyhow, when all that was done, I’ve restarted PC and restarted VSC and clicked on the little PIO’s Home icon, and I waited and waited and I got this error:

“Unable to open ‘PIO Home’: Could not start PIO Home server: Error: timeout.”

Panes “Problems” and “Terminal” show no errors. My Internet connection works perfectly.

So, I am stuck now and I’ve no clue as to what to do the next. What do I need to do to get VSC & PIO working?

Have you resolved this issue?

No, not at all. Please advise if you can.

I am completely new to this, so I am fundamentally clueless ;-(

I mean whole concept is brilliant, but without support its useless.

Please open PIO IDE Terminal (bottom left corner) and type

pio home

Does it work?

This isnt working for me either.
It was working fine last week on this laptop and it was working fine yesterday on a different computer.
I am using Atom.

When I type in pio home into the terminal I get:
PlatformIO Plus (https://pioplus.com) v0.10.13
CorePackageManager: Installing contrib-piohome @ >=0.3.2,<2
Error: Detected unknown package ‘contrib-piohome’

I have uninstalled and reinstalled platformio. I have also upgraded pip and python to ensure I have the latest version (of Python 2.7).

I’m experiencing the same problem. Home won’t load, I get an endless spinner. Windows 10, fresh install of Atom, fresh install of platformio. The output from pio home is:

PlatformIO Plus (https://pioplus.com) v0.10.13
CorePackageManager: Installing contrib-piohome @ >=0.3.2,<2
Error: Detected unknown package 'contrib-piohome

Fixed. Please restart IDE

1 Like

Yep, it’s working for me now. Thanks very much.