Cannot compile a useable Marlin 2.0 firmware

I’m new to PlatformIO, and I’m struggling on where to turn for help on this issue. I’ve downloaded several source codes for firmware builds for my 3D printer. Every one I’ve compiled has generated a firmware.bin file which when flashed to my printer results in a bricked printer. I get a blank lit blue LCD control panel, and it is simply unresponsive.

https://www.reddit.com/r/ender3/comments/dfw5ox/skr_mini_e3_v12_board_with_tmc2209_bltouch_link/

Here’s an example of one user who uploaded a firmware.bin file and his source. His firmware.bin file flashes to the printer fine, unless I compile it on PlatformIO. I’ve followed several tutorials on YouTube on usage of PlatformIO. Some use Atom, others VSCode as the shell to run PIO under. I’ve tried both platforms, both yield useless firmware.bins.

I’ve noticed in the YouTube videos that the PIO core # was older. Is it possible the newest core is inducing an error? If so how do I attempt an older build of PIO?

Or any other suggestions as what to do? I’ve run fc (file compare) against my bins vs. the supplied bins, and the files are the same size but have an oddly similar pattern in mixed HEX values during the file compare.

Thanks for your support.

1 Like

Well these are the PIO build-system support forums but we’ve got such a massive amount of threads of people needing help for their 3D printer software, in particular Marlin, that it doesn’t make a difference, and we’re glad to help.

First of all we’d need to know which exact 3D printer model you have, and which firmware you’re attempting to compile for it, then what platformio.ini you’ve overridden, and how you’re running PIO to compile and upload the firmware.

1 Like

Hey maxgerhardt, thanks for your reply.

First off I’m using a Creality Ender3 printer. I’ve replaced the motherboard with a SKR v1.2 board with 2209 TMC drivers preinstalled. Here’s the support page for the board.