Can not get c_cpp_properties.json to update in VS Code

I’m new to this, but I think I have the basics. The .ini and python scripts are what will configure intellisense in VS Code, that is set up with the c_cpp_properties.json file, which will update on open and on manually rebuilding with the command among other times I don’t know about.

I deleted the c_cpp file because it was wrong and I was seeing how this all works. Now even after putting it back, I can’t seem to get it to update. I can open/reopen, manually run the command, change params, nothing.

My ini is:

[platformio]
description = Application
src_dir = ./src
include_dir = ./inc
lib_dir = ./lib

[env:nucleo_h743zi]
platform = ststm32
board = nucleo_h743zi

I’ve tried all I can think of. I used full path (which I don’t want), I saw an old issue with lower and uppercase drive letters in windows, tried that too.

I’m stuck. Help?

EDIT: I checked the existing file, I have full permissions, and I appear to be the owner. No difference if I open as admin

Well all except the include_dir are already the defaults.

What happens when you delete the .vscode folder of the project, then open a CLI and execute

pio init --ide=vscode

?

Hmm, yes. That fixes it once, but if I change the directories to something else the same thing happens again. Nothing will seem to update that json file now, short of pio init --ide=vscode.

So now I have a work-around but not a solution, or even a cause.

After changing the platformio.ini file, saving it, waiting a bit until the “Reload tasks” in the VSCode taskbar is gone, it does not show the changes? Also if you Ctrl+Shift+P → Rebuild Intellisense?

Do you have multiple projects / workspaces open in VSCode?

I’ve never seen a Reload Tasks dialog/toast/notification anywhere. I see the extension setting ““platformio-ide.autoRebuildAutocompleteIndex”: true” but I can make changes to the ini and nothing seems to happen.

No other workspaces open.