Build slows down computer beyond reason with VSCode on Windows 10

I’m trying to build Marlin Firmware. And for some reason, it is killing my computer. The first symptom is that the compile is really slow. What should take 36sec to build can now take minutes or just doesn’t complete. The second is that opening many applications are now slower as well. As an example, if I try to open Task Manager, it takes minutes to open, if it ever does. Teams will lose the network connection.
I have PlatformIO Core 5.2.4, Home 3.4.0. I’m doing the build with Auto Build Marlin 2.1.36.
I uninstalled PlatformIO and reinstalled it.
I have set my virus scanner to exclude the build directory.
When task manager opens there are no visible signs of any application peeking out resources.
If I boot in safe mode the compile works as expected and other applications are not bogged down.

This is very bizarre and frustrating beyond comprehension.

Does anyone have a suggestion? As a software engineer, I find it hard to comprehend the slowdown when there are no visible resource problems. But I’m very suspicious of a conflict with another program.

Thank you.

I can’t really imagine that a non-running installation of PlatformIO is causing such problems. Do these problems go away when you remove the PlatformIO extension from VSCode and delete the C:\Users\<user>\.platformio\ directory? If no, your problem is not related to PlatformIO.

Thank you for looking at this. I’m not sure about your meaning of “non-running installation.” I have no problems until I try to build Marlin. Terminating VSCode doesn’t stop the problem. I need to restart my computer and then I’m back to normal. I’ve uninstalled PIO and deleted the directory you suggested. I’m now reinstalling and downloading the needed packages. I know this sounds crazy, but I don’t use VSCode for anything other than building Marlin. So I don’t even know how to build something outside of PIO to see if it is just VSCode.