Build project using pre-configured platformio.ini

Hi
I’m new to Platformio and it’s quite hard to set it up to my whishes.

I’m using PIO with VSCode for Arduino and want to set up a standard path where I have my libaries on my computer.

Found out I have to put the path in the .ini file but I don’t want to do it everytime I creat a new project. So my research bring me to this site (Redirecting...) where it says “build project using pre-configured platformio.ini” but I don’t understand how it will work.
It seems I have to type “pio ci -c, --project-conf C:/***/platformio.ini” in the terminal right?
But does it remember this configuration for the next time I create a new project or do I have to do it again?
Is there another solution to set a standard path where PIO will search?

Per project possible using lib_extra_dirs = <path to your arduino library folder>, but not globally. Open an feature request issue at Issues · platformio/platformio-core · GitHub.

This is for continuous integration (CI) and not really what you want here. Via -c you can give the path to the config aka platformio.ini to the build process.

2 Likes

I can’t help but think that you want to stick to old Arduino IDE habits and try to solve the wrong problem.

In the Arduino IDE, libraries need to go into a global directory that is shared by all Arduino sketches. The down-side is that a sketch is not self-contained: if you share it with a friend, you need to provide additional instructions about the libraries that need to be downloaded and installed. And if your friend has another library installed with a header file that has the same name as a header file in the required libraries, it might not even compile…

The PlatformIO apprach is different: The required libraries are declared in platformio.ini in each project. You don’t need to download and install libraries – PlatformIO takes care of it. You can easily share a PlatformIO project and it will compile without further instructions.