Build attempts to compile all files in library, not just those included, or fails to find anything

Hi, I’m new to PlatformIO and really struggling with including libraries that are not part of the Arduino/PlatformIO ecosystem.

I am writing an embedded project and want to use libeigen (libeigen / eigen · GitLab). No matter how I try to include this in my project, when I attempt to build I get hundreds of errors linked to the benchmarks and examples included in the Eigen repo (despite the fact that at no point in my code do I include these), or I simply can’t build it at all.

I have tried:

1. Cloning the repo to my shared libs dir and adding this with lib_extra_dirs = /Users/mariana/PlatformIO/Shared/
  2. Cloning the repo into the project’s /lib dir, (which I want to avoid as I want to use it for multiple different projects and not duplicate it each time)
  3. Adding the repo’s URL using lib_deps = git+https://gitlab.com/libeigen/eigen.git
  4. As with #3 but without the git+ preposition

Even with the most basic main.cpp file that just has:

#include <Arduino.h>
#include <Eigen/Dense>
void setup() { }
void loop() { }

I cannot get the library to work.

In the case of #1 and #2 I get hundreds of errors like:

/Users/mariana/PlatformIO/Shared/eigen/bench/BenchUtil.h:11:57: fatal error: boost/preprocessor/repetition/enum_params.hpp: No such file or directory
/Users/mariana/PlatformIO/Shared/eigen/bench/BenchUtil.h:11:57: fatal error: boost/preprocessor/repetition/enum_params.hpp: No such file or directory

I have not referenced or included the benchmarks anywhere. If I delete the /bench/ dir I instead get errors thrown by example projects in the repo, which I also haven’t included.

In the case of #3 I get red lines under the Eigen includes in main.cpp and immediate compile failure because it cannot find them. But if I type:

pio lib install git+https://gitlab.com/libeigen/eigen.git

In the CLI I get: