AVRdude firmware size unchanged

I noticed that as I was flashing to an attiny85 over usbtinyisp that the behavior wasn’t changing. So I disconnected my circuit and flashed, plugged it back in and nothing changed. I noticed that my forward hadn’t changed in a while so I defined some oddball ints and hit build. Firmware size didn’t change. Not even a byte.

I went through and deleted the firmware elf files and such to make sure it was creating a new file at least, but the firmware size stayed the same. I must be missing something. It’s like its stuck building an older version of my code. Is there a cached copy somewhere that I’m missing? I’m new to using Platform so it’s entirely possible.

First of all, are you sure you’ve selected the right active project through the project environment switcher?

Yes. It matches what it is in my programio.ini. It remains stuck if I do a clean and rebuild. Even if I create dummy methods, the size remains the same. I know that it is writing to the chip because I get the flashing lights and all from the programmer, but the size should change right?

But if you don’t call them, the optimizer passes of the compiler will sweep them out again. Same with global variables that you define but not use. The default optimization level given to gcc in PlatformIO is -Os (optimize-for-size) after all.

Do you have a reproducable minimal example (code + changes + platformio.ini) of this?

GitHub - TunaLobster/ServoTester: Simple homemade servo tester just for fun and learning is the repo

The trouble is that the chip is doing an old PWM sweep program I was using to test out some libraries. It’s not writing the analogRead() code that I have in there right now.

Yeah these lines