ATmega328P ISR's

Hey there,
I was wondering if someone had any luck using ATmega328 interrupt vectors outside of src/main.c in PlatformIO projects? I’ve tried to write my interrupt routines in a separate file that I would keep in the lib/ folder but for a reason that I don’t grasp, interrupts never get called. Howewer, when written in main.c, it works perfectly. I did read something about library options in some json file but I’m new to this approach and didn’t quite understand. So I’m looking for some help here if people have had the same issue :slight_smile:
(by the way I program in plain C and I’m not using the Arduino framework)

I’ve had no problems using interrupts. In fact, I wrote a book about Arduino Interrupts.

One thing I noticed because I’m a fat fingered typist, if you spell the ISR name incorrectly, you won’t see a compiler warning or error, and your interrupts won’t fire!

If you are not using the Arduino framework, then global interrupts are disabled by default so unless you #include <avr/interrupt.h> and sei(); you also won’t get any interrupts!

The number of times I have debugged code that wasn’t working only to find I hadn’t enabled interrupts is “more than once”!

Failing these suggestions, do you have a minimal sketch that isn’t working you could post?

HTH

Cheers,
Norm.

Shot in the dark: Add

lib_archive = no

to the platformio.ini (docs) and retry. If that solves it, you need to create a library.json with that option. Linking interrupt code from lib/ has always been problematic.

Thanks for the tip, though I have already tried this trick and it doesn’t do much…

Hey Norman, thanks for your reply.

I am aware of this as I’m used to working with Atmel Studio usually. This is all mentioned in my code. I can show you the basic program I wrote but I’m not sure it’ll help…
I just set INT0 to be called on rising edges by configuring EIMSK and EICRA registers. The routine just turns the onboard LED on and off. Simple stuff.