Arduino.h, avr-gcc

I am a VSCode veteran, brand new to PlatformIO. I’ve been struggling with some really basic things. After attempting without success to import an existing and working Arduino sketch (created in Arduino IDE), I decided to start from scratch.

I created a new project for Arduino Uno Wifi rev.2 board. Immediately I got errors in the first line of main.cpp: #include <Arduino.h> , which said to update my includePath. In addition, I got the message:
cannot open source file “inttypes.h” (dependency of “Arduino.h”)C/C++(1696)

I don’t how to update the includePath, and I cannot find where to source the Arduino.h file. Googled for quite awhile before posting this…

In addition I am getting error:
Unable to resolve configuration with compilerPath: “avr-gcc”
in the output window. Same story, lots of Googling, no joy.

Can you help me get past these fails?

Thanks!

In case it isn’t clear, I haven’t written any code yet, these errors are happening with the template code that PlatformIO creates.

Also, I uninstalled and reinstalled just to see if that made any difference, didn’t.

It sounds to me as you there might be two overlapping errors. First, make sure that you do not have conflicting VSCode extensions installed, especially “C/C++ by austin” or Arduino.

Then, make sure to build the project once regardless of IntelliSense errors. PlatformIO is the build system here, not the IntelliSense extension; it can be wrong while still building. If you’ve never built any project before then PlatformIO will only at build time download the toolchain and framework files, only after which the IntelliSense will be able to pick them up. So this initial error is one-time expected.

If you have made modifications to your include path or the .vscode/c_cpp_properties.json file, you must re-initialize the project to restore it to a good state. Use the project task “Default → Miscelleneous → Rebuild IntelliSense”.