Adafruit DHT22 sensor library problem

Hi all!

I’m new to PIO and I’m moving a project from the arduino IDE over to PIO. I am having problems with the adafruit DHT22 library compiling with my code. This is the error I get when I try to compile:

C:\Users\Randy\Documents\Arduino\libraries\DHT_sensor_library\DHT_U.h:36:29: fatal error: Adafruit_Sensor.h: No such file or directory.

Adafruit_Sensor.h is part of their unified sensor library. I have installed (using library manager) the library and have compiled the example code included with the library. So I’m left wondering why my code can’t find the library.

Can someone please point me in the direction I should look?

Thanks,
Randy

What is the code that you’re using? Your code needs to #include <DHT_U.h> at least so that PlatformIO is able to scan the dependency chain correctly.

While it is possible to use all Arduino libraries (you probably have lib_extra_dirs directive in your platformio.ini), you should try and use the “Only PlatformIO” way directly, through PIO’s library management via lib_deps or the graphical library manager.

So for a project that uses the DHT_sensor_library which uses the Adafruit_Sensor library I’d expect

lib_deps = 
   adafruit/DHT sensor library @ ^1.4.1
   adafruit/Adafruit Unified Sensor @ ^1.1.4

in the platformio.ini and no lib_extra_dirs directive. (Found via library searcher and the header names) and as example code one of these.

Hi maxgerhardt, can you explain this a bit more?

My code was using #include <DHT.h>, changing it to #include <DHT_U.h> fixed the errors. I can now build and upload the code to the board. So why does it need to be <DHT_U.h>?

I tried this:

But ran into an issue with this - see next post