A question about board configuration files with ESP32

Hello,

I’m still a beginner when it comes to using PlatformIO.

I want to use it with the “WEMOS LOLIN D32 Pro” board, which has 16 MB Flash and 8 MB PSRAM, and the “Espressif IoT Development Framework”.
Changing the flash size in the configuration file is easy, but I still have no idea how to add PSRAM functionality to the configuration file so that it can be accessed.

Could someone please provide me with such a file?

Thanks in advance,
Michael

Docs.

Sorry Max,

I leafed through the chapter for the boards with ESP32 and found no (sufficient) information straight away on how to configure PSRAM. Just a “-D …”.
I cannot and do not want to waste a lot of time again just this time studying the entire documentation. It is complex enough to configure PlatformIO so that it does what it should do. Sometimes it’s very unpredictable, because VS Code is unpredictable also. Neither is it plug-and-play, more like most things else, plug-and-pray.
That’s why I dared to address this question/request to the community.

One thing you should believe me: Simply from my personal, very bad experience with “offers of help” in general, I basically try to solve every problem on my own before I ask someone for help. Especially in the professional environment. In the past that was and now that is the best way to solve problems.

Best Regards,
Michael

Look, let’s keep the discussion on topic. If the documentation hasn’t helped and you’ve already tried that configuration option, just say so.

Please state the full current platformio.ini and code with which you are testing PSRAM availability.

Hello Max,

my “platform.ini”:

; PlatformIO Project Configuration File
;
;   Build options: build flags, source filter
;   Upload options: custom upload port, speed and extra flags
;   Library options: dependencies, extra library storages
;   Advanced options: extra scripting
;
; Please visit documentation for the other options and examples