Using vscode+PlatformIO as an IDE for coding C/C++

Hi,
I’m a teacher in China. I teaching students C/C++ and MCU programming.
For many years, I have been looking for an integrated development software until I discovered PlatformIO.
It is so wonderful and powerful, and what’s more, easy to use and user-friendly. Now, instead of installing a bunch of development softwares/toolchains, I can teach my students with just only one development software. It’s great!
It seems that PlatformIO used for MCU programming. But sometimes the students want to use it for coding/learning C/C++, or test a piece of source code independent of MCUs. Just as the CodeBlocks(mingw version) can be used as an IDE to code C/C++. I know that the vscode can be configured as an IDE for C/C++ programming/learning, but it’s too complicated for students, and the configuration process make students bored.
MCU programming and C/C++ learning are inseparable, may the development team of PlatformIO add the tools/methods/tuitorials for the software (vscode+PlatformIO) as an IDE for C/C++ programming/learning?
Best regards.

Set the platform to native: Native — PlatformIO latest documentation

If you’re on Windows, you’ll have to install the compiler yourself however. You maybe could use the WSL but I’ve not gone down that road (yet).

Maybe this could enlighten you: https://code.visualstudio.com/remote-tutorials/wsl/getting-started

2 Likes

I’ve just tried it: it is easy. Just follow the steps to use VSCode remote in WSL and activate the Platformio extension in the remote window.

Only thing missing is the icons to build/upload… . But if you click the Pio icon you can open a Pio terminal and work via CLI.

P: I had platformio already installed in WSL, so I can just run the pio commands in WSL. Hence, I can run pio in the regular WSL too. Maybe that helped me using VSCode remote… Your mileage may vary.

1 Like