TLC5940 shift register library throwing Unknown Board error

Hello all - please advise if you might be able to assist at all… I am new to the ESP32 Wroom 32D and also to Platformio and Visual Studio Code too.

I have a sketch that has been working in the Arduino IDE and on the Atmel 328 chip very sucessfully, but I want to add some more to it and have bought a AZ Devkit C ESP32 board to make it easier. The speed, number of timers and the Wifi are the main reasons for my move.

Having bashed the keyboard for far too long now, trying to make it work with the Tlc5940 library listed in Platformio’s interface (from Paul Stoffregen and built upon Alex Leonne’s work maybe), I just can’t get it to recognise the board, with the “unknown error” message showing in the terminal. I have run some very simple sketches that didn’t need additional libraries and so the IDE is in principle running correctly. There are many errors that mention pin names and I imagine that this is part of the same problem.

The heirachy of the problem libary files is shown in red as follows: pinouts>>chip_includes.h, pinouts>>tlc_config.h and then Tlc5940.cpp too (this is not my file).

I would really like to continue specifically with this library and if anyone could shed light on how to overcome the problems I’d very much appreciate it.

Many thanks!

If you’re talking about the library at PlatformIO Registry, the library does not work the ESP32. The author of the library does some checks on which platform the library is being used, and it’s only valid for some AVR chips and some Teensies. For all else,

Sadly the library’s manifest is wrong here in telling you that it supports “all known architectures”. There’s code missing to support the ESP32.

Sadly Sparkfun’s port of the library, GitHub - sparkfun/SparkFun_TLC5940_Arduino_Library: Library for the TLC5940, is also not available for the ESP32, as well as the ALA library (Update library to work on ESP8266 & 32 · Issue #21 · bportaluri/ALA · GitHub).