Running XSCode on both Windows and Linux

I have been using Platformio with the Atom editor for a few months and I like it quite a bit. It’s fast, relatively simple and easy, and reliable. I only use it for configuring and maintaining the Marlin firmware used on my 3D printers. But now I am reading that platformio will not support the Atom editor going forward so that means VSCode. So far, my opinions regarding VSCode are not repeatable and involve a LOT of expletives.

My initial install of VSCode was on my Windows 10 Pro laptop. I have been working with it for a few days and almost have it customized to a point where I can use it. At least, if I can get all of the permissions problems resolved. But before I get to the problem, here is the layout. I cloned the Marlin source from github to a network drive and into a folder called “Marlin Projects”. To keep that library as a local backup (sort of), that library was copied to a new folder within “Marlin Projects” and is called “MAX_BLT_MMU2”. So the folders I have are:

Marlin Projects
|-> Marlin (This is the one cloned from github)
|-> MAX_BLT_MMU2 (This is a copy of Marlin)

I edited the configuration files in the “MAX_BLT_MMU2” folder, and ran a build using VSCode on the laptop. There was a LOT of warnings, but I expected that.