RP2040 Connect + PlatformIO + RP2040_RTC build failure

@khoih-prog created a great library for using the RTC in the Arduino RP2040 Connect. It works great when building from the Arduino IDE (1.8), however when I try to build the same example in PlatformIO IDE it fails.

Disclaimer: I am new to PlatformIO, Arduino and the whole world of microcontrollers.

I opened an issue in the GitHub repository as well, however as it seems like a problem with PlatformIO builds probably it’s better to ask here :slight_smile:

I was trying to run the WifiNINA example from the PlatformIO IDE but the build fails like this:

In file included from include/defines.h:69,
                 from src/main.cpp:24:
.pio/libdeps/nanorp2040connect/RP2040_RTC/src/RP2040_RTC.h:48:28: error: 'datetime_t' was not declared in this scope
   48 |   bool rtc_set_datetime   (datetime_t *t);

If I run the exact same code (copying to code from src/main.cpp to the ino file in a new sketch) in the Arduino IDE it works without issues.

datetime_t is definied in the pico-sdk in the types.h header and it seems to be included in a later stage of the build because if I define the struct in my code for testing, the build fails with duplicate definitions.

In file included from /Users/efpe/.platformio/packages/framework-arduino-mbed/cores/arduino/mbed/targets/TARGET_RASPBERRYPI/TARGET_RP2040/pico-sdk/common/pico_base/include/pico.h:16,
                 from /Users/efpe/.platformio/packages/framework-arduino-mbed/cores/arduino/mbed/targets/TARGET_RASPBERRYPI/TARGET_RP2040/objects.h:30,
                 from /Users/efpe/.platformio/packages/framework-arduino-mbed/cores/arduino/mbed/targets/TARGET_RASPBERRYPI/TARGET_RP2040/device.h:35,
                 from /Users/efpe/.platformio/packages/framework-arduino-mbed/cores/arduino/mbed/platform/include/platform/platform.h:28,
                 from /Users/efpe/.platformio/packages/framework-arduino-mbed/cores/arduino/mbed/platform/include/platform/FileHandle.h:25,