Renewed start with PIO after building a new machine; best approach?

I have been using PIO for a few years now to build by controller network; mostly Arduinos with Ethernet and other libs.

I kept my projects on a separate drive.

What seems to have changed is the library location; global vs. local.

I have built a new machine, hence, have a fresh install, (same hardware architecture) and while I can open the projects, the user location ~/.platformio does, of course, not contain anything related to these projects (packages, environments, etc.)… naturally creating these errors:

The main questions are:

1. Should I just copy the ~/.platformio directory form the old to the new machine, thus inheriting legacy locations of files?

2. Should install these libraries through the PIO inteface and let them go where PIO decides? Would this approach correct the c_ccp_properties.json files?

3. My biggest wish would be to have ONE directory with all the PIO related stuff, and another with the project (like I already have)… so that I can launch PIO from e.g. a laptop and work on the same files w/o any lib (or other) problems.
    The reason for this option is: I program on one desktop and prototype on another desktop (in the lab), and may upload a new firmware to a controller with a laptop. So far I grab a USB key and transfer the main.ccp and install any missing libraries on the desktop and laptop and recompile. I find this a bit cumbersome and error prone.

Any hints appreciated. Thanks.

I think if you change to that project using the project environment changer, PIO will trigger a re-init of the .vscode files and use the correct path.

Alternatively, iterate through all project folders and do a pio init --ide=vscode.

1 Like

Thanks, and sorry for being a bit thick…
Which of my three questions does this answer?

None, I’m sidepassing the questions and leading you to get rid of those intellisense errors the way I assume it should be done.

:slight_smile: OK…