Problems with serial communication

hey guys :slight_smile:
I am currently working on an ESP32 project.
When I upload my code via the Arduino IDE, the serial communication with another microcontroller works as I want, but when I upload the same code via the PlatformIO extension in VSCode, it outputs random values instead of the value I set.
As I am new to PlatformIO, my configuration file is set to default except for monitor_speed, but this should have no effect as I understand it. Does anyone know what I am missing?

Can you show your platformio.ini and code you’re running on it?

Thank you for your quick reply!

This is my platformio.ini:
[env:esp32dev]
platform = espressif32
board = esp32dev
framework = arduino
lib_extra_dirs = ~/Documents/Arduino/libraries
monitor_speed = 4800

This is the code at which the message is sent via the serial interface:
void getInfoFromAT89()
{
commFlag = true;
Serial.println(“Sending request”);
Serial2.begin(4800, SERIAL_8N1, RXD2, TXD2);
Serial2.write(“2”);
}

What value does RXD2 and TXD2 have?

I have this board (Produkte | Joy-IT) and use pins 16 (RX2) and 17 (TX2).

Okay and you do have an extra USB-serial connector connected to those serial pins, yeah? Your sketch seems to be using two Serials. The default Serial will be connected to the USB-UART converted on the board, while you seem to be using Serial2 to communicate with a AT89 chip.

You need to take care which serial port you are connecting to and at which baud rate they run. If you are on the serial port for the dev board (Serial), you need to set monitor_speed to the baud rate set in Serial.begin(), or 115200 (default value for Arduino-ESP32) and you should see all output printed by Serial.println() etc.

You can switch between the monitor ports by using monitor_port. If you have two USB-UART adapters in your setup (one on-board and one probing IO 17), you should be able to see the output for both of them correctly, given that monitor_port and monitor_speed match.