Possible error in Microchip sample code

Hi I am new to baremetal coding with 4809, but thought I’d post this for the benefit of any other new types.

In the microchip example code for getting started with USART ( TB3216_Getting_Started_with_USART ) , I thnk there’s a coding error.

in the LED_on function the code is:
PORTB.OUT &= ~PIN5_bm; which clears the pin

and in the LED_off function the code is
PORTB.OUT |= PIN5_bm; which sets the pin

These just need the function names swapped over.

I am completely new to this stuff, so if I’m wrong that’s no surprise, but when I ran the code the LED was constantly on irrespective of the command sent via serial (ON or OFF)
I swapped the code and it works: ON => Led goes on. OFF=> Led goes off.

Paul

Hi, that looks not too bad. Typically, the PORTS are output registers which work like a bitmask, so each bit stands for an individual output. If you now write

// turn PIN5 of PORT5 on
PORTB.OUT |= (True << PIN5_bm);

this will set PIN_5 of PORTB to True (the << shift operation is really quick and won’t waste cycles, that’s why you’ll find those a lot when doing low-level embedded programming).
Similar for clearing a bit:

// turn PIN5 of PORTB off
PORTB.OUT &= ~(True << PIN5_bm);

will clear PIN5 by making sure that NONE of PORTB’s other bit’s values are touched.
The |= operator is used to set a bit within a byte register while &= operator makes sure that a bit is cleared, both without affecting the other bit’s states.

For clarification: this depends a lot on how the expressions are defined, in this case PIN5_bm. My description above is valid for a mask that defines the bit, so PIN5_bm = 5 in my case. For a different calculation, e.g. PIN5_bm = 0x10, then the above code you wrote would be perfect.

If the LED turns off by setting the pin HIGH you might just have a LED with inverted logic?