Interfacing displays with mbed and nucleo boards

Hi,
I am new to STM32 and I want to use displays with my nucleo F413ZH. I have looked and tried different PIO libraries for interfacing with an I2C 4x20 LCD (classic ones with a PCF8574 used with arduino) but nothing works. I tried this one PlatformIO Registry on PIO which is supposed to work but I can’t get anything to print with the given example.

I also wanted to try a ST7789 with SPI but I can’t find a suitable library on PIO.

Has anyone had anyluck with STM32’s? And is it possible to use the more popular PIO libraries that use arduino header files for a nucleo board? the problem if I try to do this right now is that it cannot compile due to the Wire.h and other includes from the arduino environment but unknown to the mbed environment

How can I use an I2C LCD (or a ST7789) with mbed on PIO? thanks!

I tried 2 or 3 configurations of pins but none worked

I just tried the I2C scanner (I didnt think of it before as I know the address of the device) and the code does not seem to work. It acknowledges all of the 128 i2c addresses, even when I unplug my i2c lines…

I know the contrast nob is adjusted!

#include "mbed.h"
I2C i2c(D14, D15);       // sda, scl
Serial pc(USBTX, USBRX); // tx, rx

int main()
{
  while (1)
  {
pc.printf("RUN\r\n");

for (int i = 0; i < 128; i++)
{
  i2c.start();
  if (i2c.write(i << 1))
    pc.printf("0x%x ACK \r\n", i); // Send command string
  i2c.stop();
}

thread_sleep_for(500);
  }
}

So when I upload, it continuously prints the 128 addresses with ACK on each. This clearly isnt normal, what can be causing this?

Thanks!

Hm maybe the scanner sketch has the wrong logic, can you try

Because that has the ACK logic inverted. However if all 128 addresses return “ACK” then this sketch will just return 0 devices. But it’s worth a try. Make sure to adapt the I2C and serial pins again ( D14, D15, USBTX, USBRX)