I don't see Home when I download PlatformIO

I have constantly run into this problem of not seeing the Home icon in PlatformIO after the extension is installed in VSC. The IDE shows up as Globally Installed, but I am just trying to simply load an Arduino sketch and can’t! Any suggestions? I have reinstalled VSC, PlatformIO, etc. Running MacOS 10.14.6 Mojave.

What are you referring to as the ‘Home icon’?

This icon on the status bar?

or the PIO icon in the sidebar?

If it’s the former, possibly it’s not there because you don’t have a PIO project open? The sidebar icon should always be present though.

The status bar icon is missing. I have the side bar icon. Is that normal? My confusion is opening an Arduino sketch as I was to.d to navigate to the Home icon and then Import. I never saw an Import option. What qualifies as a PIO project? I am new to VSCODE.

The image below illustrates my frustration. There is no “HOME” icon in either the sidebar or toolbar. What am I doing wrong? I am suspecting that I need to launch it in order to upload an Arduino sketch. Any help? Thanks.

What extensions are installed besides PlatformIO? What exact VScode version are you using? Do you have any antivirus active?

No other extensions are enabled
Running VSC Version: 1.39.1
No antivirus employed
Running MacOSX Mojave

Unless it went missing between you saying that, and the screenshot - you don’t… there’s no ‘alien head’ icon in the sidebar on the screenshot. And even if you don’t have a PIO project open (a project folder containing a platformio.ini configuration file and source code, etc), it seems that the home icon usually stays present on the status bar… but not other other icons. The rest of them should appear once you have a valid PIO (PlatformIO) project loaded.