Filling array in a function

Sorry but I have to ask here again.
I have an char array, char result[8];
on the other hand I have, int value;

snprintf(result, sizeof(result), “%d”, value); works fine.
result is then printed on an lcd

but now I have some calculation to get the int value based on different sources and different target. So I like to have something like this

char result[8|;
int value1;
int value2;

void convert(result, int z)  // should fill result with ASCII equivialent of z
{
  z = z *2;  // calculation example
  snprintf(result, sizeof(result), "%d", z); 
}

void setup()
{
}

void main{}
{
   convert( result, value1);
   lcd.print(result);
   convert(result,value2);
   lcd.print(result
}

I tried a lot of things and did some hours search a solution, but did not get passing the array (that means a pointer) to the convert function.
Can someone help me please. I know I am still learning pointers and references and got it with int and so on, but not with char arrays.
Thanks

Rainer

result has no type in that function.

If you want to pass a character buffer, it needs to be of type char*.