Error trying to connect Arduino MKR NB 1500 to AWS IoT “the device does not recognize the command”

I have a project using MKR NB 1500 and Adafruit stemma soil sensor connecting to AWS to upload the sensor data. I had this working before just fine. I am developing in VS Code and PlatformIO. Yesterday I got a notification that there was an update available to VS Code, so I updated it. Then I made an inconsequential update to the code (minor change to one line of text to output to the serial monitor) and now when I run the sketch on the board I get the following error when trying to connect to AWS.

I can only assume that the update somehow caused this issue, but I’m a pretty novice programmer and don’t know where to start with this error. Any help is appreciated!

And that change was? Whatever it was it killed the serial connection it seems o_O

I literally changed
Serial.print("Attempting to MQTT broker: ");
to
Serial.print("Attempting to connect to MQTT broker: ");.

But just to be sure, I reverted back to the last know working version of the code from a few weeks ago and I still get the same error. After reverting I am sure that the only thing that’s changed is the update to VS Code.

The other thing that confuses me is that while the error seems to point to an issue with the serial connection, as you can see in the screenshot, it successfully writes several lines to the serial monitor before the error is thrown.

This may just indicate that the error appears at runtime.

in fact in conjunction with the informatio “Attempting to connect” and “cellular connection” it seems to me that the connection attempt activates the modem which causes an extreme current draw (and voltage drop) that knocks out the microcontroller, which hosts the USB-serial. Cellular connections are known to be power-hungry.

Do you get the same “serial connection is kill” behavior when just doing a normal loop with nothing else?

#include <Arduino.h>

void setup() { Serial.begin(115200); }