Can't compile midi program for teensy2++

I am trying to compile a midi controller type program for the teensy using platformio. I was able to do this with the arduino IDE and get it uploaded without issues. I have never used platformio before so I thought I would try it. I am using the platformio plugin with clion.

Here is my .ini file:

[env:teensy2pp]
platform = teensy
board = teensy2pp
framework = arduino
build_flags = -DUSB_MIDI

lib_deps =
    paulstoffregen/Encoder @ ^1.4.1
    tttapa/Control Surface @ 1.2.0-4

and here is the main.cpp

#include <Encoder.h>
#include <Control_Surface.h>

// Instantiate a MIDI over USB interface.
USBMIDI_Interface midi;

// Instantiate a CCRotaryEncoder object
CCRotaryEncoder enc = {
        {32, 33},       // pins
        {14}, // MIDI address (CC number + optional channel)
        1,            // optional multiplier if the control isn't fast enough
};
void setup() {

RelativeCCSender::setMode(relativeCCmode::TWOS_COMPLEMENT);
    Control_Surface.begin(); // Initialize Control Surface
}

void loop() {
    Control_Surface.loop(); // Update the Control Surface
}

The first error I get is In file included from .pio/libdeps/teensy2pp/MIDIUSB/src/MIDIUSB.cpp:17:0: .pio/libdeps/teensy2pp/MIDIUSB/src/MIDIUSB.h:74:2: error: #error "Unsupported architecture"

followed by a lot more errors from the same MIDIUSB.h file
This code compiles and was uploaded using the arduino IDE and the teensy loader.

I am using a teensy2++.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

I’ve looked at the compilation process and it seems PlatformIO includes some wrong libraries. MIDIUSB e.g. is recognized as some Arduino library written for AVR and SAM(D) processors and not the one in the core directory.

To correct that, add the line

lib_ignore = MIDIUSB, Audio

to the platformio.ini and retry.

EDIT: Also, the project should be cleaned to remove old build artifacts and libraries, e.g. using pio run -t clean or “Clean” in VSCode.