Arduino UNO as ISP error on com port

I am new to PlatformIO.

I manage to installed platformio ide on vscode. I try upload a blink sketch with using Arduino UNO as ISP for ATTiny45. My hardware is UNO with ATTiny45 programming shield sitting on top of UNO.

The error i face as below. I had tried a many hours changing the platformio.ini file, the upload_port i had tried are COM3, COM[13], COM4 are all not working. My Arduino IDE COM Port is COM3.

I also try using new project with Arduino Mega Board 2560. It was able to successfully upload a blink sketch, the automatic detection of com port is COM4. Then I revert back to Arduino UNO with ATTiny shield, COM4 is not working as well. The error is below.

I need help. Plz.

Greetings!

Shut down VSCode and open up the Arduino IDE with your Arduino as ISP attached in the usual manner.

Go to Tools->Port and make sure that you have the correct port. Try to upload a sketch. If it works, we have the correct port. Close the IDE.

Open VSCode again, and open your project folder, then open platformio.ini - is the correct port found in upload_port? If not, fix it.

Now, you can only upload using a bootloader. In the Arduino IDE, to upload with a programmer, like a USBtiny, or Arduino as ISP, you have to hold SHIFT when you click the upload button. That uses the programmer, not the bootloader.

In VSCode, click the “alien face” icon on the left toolbar. That opens a list of tasks that you can do. Look in the list for “Upload Using Programmer” (probably not the option “Upload using programmer and set fuses”, so be careful!

That should then use your Arduino to program the ATtiny45.

HTH

Cheers,
Norm.

Thank Norm for your help. I have done all these prior to writing for help. So far, still cannot work. It is the same. I try using Arduino Mega board, can load successfully. That means the environment setup is okay. Only Arduino as ISP setting is not right, does not detect the port. I tried without port also not working.